RSS

Walking and Biking

28 Aug


Parallelism is one of my favorite topics for discussion in my English classes. One day, I was explaining to a class of 65 students that parallelism is the similarity of structure in a pair or series of related words, phrases, or clauses. After giving several examples on the board, I was overjoyed when an average student was able to correct the faulty parallelism, He likes walking and to bike down by the pier into He likes walking and biking down by the pier. Just after I was convinced that everybody has understood my discussion, I noticed a student at the far end of the classroom obviously not listening. After reprimanding him for not listening, I instructed him to stand up and asked him why the sentence, He likes walking and to bike down by the pier is wrong. Red in the face from all the scolding he got from me, he innocently answered, “Ma’am, because walking is wrong when you have a bike”.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
